ICare

Summary Development of a pan-European online platform for the promotion of mental health
Lead Michael Schaub
Duration 2015 - 2020
Funding European Union (Horizon 2020)
Cooperation https://www.icare-online.eu/en/partners.html

Description of the project

Over the past decade, the research base for Internet-based interventions in the prevention and treatment of mental disorders has grown rapidly. Nevertheless, many European countries (e.g., Germany, Austria, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Spain) have not yet implemented these promising approaches in their health care systems. Individuals with risk predisposition or distinct mental disorders who are interested in online interventions often do not have adequate access to evidence-based online interventions.

The goal of the ICare project is to provide a rich model of health promotion, risk identification, disease prevention, and treatment facilitation for the most common health problems and mental disorders (depression, anxiety disorders, adjustment disorder, eating disorders/weight control, and substance abuse) to help individuals and professionals select and use online interventions. To achieve this goal, participating project partners are bringing together more than 30 evidence-based online interventions, ranging from general to targeted prevention, from self-help to treatment for the relevant disorder, applied to children, adolescents, and adults. According to a stakeholder survey, the model will be integrated into existing healthcare and other settings in Germany, the UK, Switzerland, Austria and Spain, via

  1. Developing a valid and economical online screening tool for assigning individuals to interventions
  2. Developing the technology for a common e-health intervention platform
  3. Development of implementation plans
  4. Implementation of evidence-based interventions in health care settings
  5. Evaluation and comparison of feasibility, acceptability, coverage, effectiveness, cost-effectiveness, adaptation, and publication including facilitators of the intervention.

The ICare project also aims to implement their interventions into healthcare and collaborate with healthcare providers across different EU countries.

The Swiss Institute for Addiction and Health Research is mainly in charge of work package 4 (resilience promotion in first-year students) and 5 (indicated prevention of depression and anxiety disorders).

ICare

Kurzbeschrieb Entwicklung einer europaweiten Online-Plattform zur Förderung der psychischen Gesundheit
Projektleitung Michael Schaub
Dauer 2015 - 2020
Förderung durch / Auftraggeber Europäische Union (Horizon 2020)
Kooperationspartner https://www.icare-online.eu/en/partners.html

Beschreibung des Projekts

In den letzten zehn Jahren hat sich die Forschungsgrundlage für internet-basierte Interventionen im Bereich Prävention und Behandlung von psychischen Störungen rapide vergrössert. Trotzdem haben viele europäische Länder (z.B. Deutschland, Österreich, Schweiz, Grossbritannien, Spanien) diese vielversprechenden Ansätze noch nicht in ihr Gesundheitssystem implementiert. Personen mit Risikoveranlagung oder ausgeprägten psychischen Störungen, die sich für Online-Interventionen interessieren, haben oft keinen angemessenen Zugang zu evidenz-basierten Online-Interventionen.

Das Ziel des ICare-Projekts ist es, ein reichhaltiges Modell der Gesundheitsförderung, Risikoerkennung, Krankheitsvorsorge und Behandlungserleichterung für die häufigsten Gesundheitsprobleme und psychischen Störungen (Depression, Angststörungen, Anpassungsstörung, Essstörungen/Gewichtskontrolle und Substanzmissbrauch) anzubieten, das Betroffenen und Fachpersonen bei der Auswahl und Nutzung von Online-Interventionen hilft. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen bringen die beteiligten Projektpartner über 30 evidenzbasierte Online-Interventionen zusammen, von allgemeiner bis zielgerichteter Prävention, von Selbsthilfe bis Behandlung der entsprechenden Störung, angewandt für Kinder, Jugendliche und Erwachsene. Gemäss einer Umfrage von Interessenvertretern wird das Modell in die bestehende Gesundheitsfürsorge und andere Einrichtungen in Deutschland, Grossbritannien, der Schweiz, Österreich und Spanien integriert, mittels

  1. Entwicklung eines validen und ökonomischen Online-Screenings für die Zuweisung von Individuen zu Interventionen
  2. Entwicklung der Technologie für eine gemeinsame E-Health Interventions-Plattform
  3. Entwicklung von Implementationsplänen
  4. Implementierung der evidenzbasierten Interventionen in die Gesundheitsfürsorge
  5. Evaluation und Vergleich der Machbarkeit, Akzeptanz, Reichweite, Wirksamkeit, Kosteneffizienz, Anpassung und Publikation inklusive Moderatoren der Intervention.

Das ICare-Projekt zielt auch auf eine Implementation ihrer Interventionen in die Gesundheitsfürsorge und eine Zusammenarbeit mit Gesundheitsdienstleistern über verschiedene EU-Länder ab.

Das Schweizer Institut für Sucht- und Gesundheitsforschung ist hauptsächlich mit dem Arbeitspaket 4 (Resilienzförderung bei Studiumsanfängern) und 5 (indizierte Prävention von Depression und Angststörungen) beauftragt.