Treatment

Historically, the ISGF was established during the introduction and evaluation of heroin-assisted treatment in Switzerland and has since developed a record of accomplishments in conducting feasibility studies and randomized controlled trials.

 In addition to the standard evaluations of opioid addiction treatments, the field of treatment research has expanded to include so-called tailored interventions. These are interventions aimed at specific, particularly vulnerable target groups undergoing smoking cessation (with or without drugs or nicotine substitutes) and in treatment of a problematic or dependent use of alcohol, cannabis, cocaine or behavioural addictions. Research on these tailored interventions is mainly conducted using social therapeutic methods, methods of motivational interviewing, methods from cognitive behavioural therapy and family therapy


Currently, intervention studies using new media such as SMS, apps, or the internet are an important part of the ISGF's research on prevention, early intervention and treatments of substance disorders. In addition, our web-based interventions find significant international distribution, in countries such as France, Spain, Germany, Austria, Canada and Estonia.

Projects on treatment

Behandlung

Historisch gesehen ist das ISGF im Zuge der Einführung und Evaluation der Heroingestützten Behandlung in der Schweiz entstanden und verfügt über eine breiten Leistungsnachweis in der Durchführung von Machbarkeitsstudien und randomisiert-kontrollierten Studien.

Nebst den klassischen Behandlungsevaluationen bei Opiatabhängigen, hat sich der Bereich der Behandlungsforschung vor allem auf sogenannte Tailored Interventions, also auf bestimmte, besonders vulnerable Zielgruppen abzielende Interventionen in der Rauchentwöhnung (mit oder ohne Medikamente bzw. Nikotinersatzprodukte) sowie bei der Behandlung von problematischem bzw. abhängigem Konsum von Cannabis und Kokain erweitert. Dabei finden vorwiegend sozialtherapeutische Methoden, Methoden der Motivierenden Gesprächsführung, aber auch Methoden aus der Kognitiven Verhaltenstherapie und familientherapeutische Ansätze Anwendung. Ein aktuelleres Beispiel ist die INCANT Studie, eine randomisiert-kontrollierte Multicenterstudie zur Überprüfung der Wirksamkeit von Multidimensionaler Familientherapie bei stark cannabiskonsumierenden Jugendlichen.

Inzwischen bilden im ISGF Interventionsstudien mittels neuen Medien wie SMS, Smartphones, Tablet-PC oder das Internet einen wichtigen Bestandteil des Forschungsbereichs Behandlung und ebenso desjenigen der Prävention und Frühintervention von Substanzstörungen.

Projekte zu Behandlung