Changing to win

Summary Development and testing of the effectiveness of a new web-based integrated intervention for problematic/pathological gambling behaviour and tobacco consumption
Project manager(s) Michael Schaub
Duration 01.2018-01.2021
Client / Funding partner(s)

Manitoba Gambling Research Program

Cooperating partner(s)

Prof. Matthew Keough, Prof. David Hodgins, Prof. Sherry Stewart, Prof. James Mackillop

Background

There is a strong relationship between problematic gambling addiction and tobacco consumption. Studies show that tobacco addiction is a predominant comorbid disorder in people with problem gambling behaviour, with the prevalence ranging from 41% to 60%. Compared to the general population, people with problematic gambling behaviour are disproportionately affected by increased death rates from tobacco consumption. Moreover, research shows that simultaneous tobacco consumption further exacerbates the problem of gambling behaviour. Smokers with problematic gambling behaviour exhibit higher gambling behaviour pathologies, experience a stronger urge to gamble, often have other mental disorders, tend to bet higher sums, spend more time gambling and have higher financial problems. This suggests that daily smoking may affect the success of gambling addiction treatment. Thus, psychological intervention for gambling behaviour should also focus on the treatment of smoking behaviour.

Objective

Development and testing of the effectiveness of a new web-based integrated intervention for problematic/pathological gambling addiction and tobacco consumption based on a randomized controlled trial.

Method

The proposed intervention is based on strategies of cognitive behavioural therapy and motivational interviewing - both are evidence-based approaches for the treatment of problematic gambling behaviour and smoking. A major strength will be the integrated approach, i.e. that problematic gambling behaviour and smoking will be treated simultaneously in the same treatment.

Value of the project

The online platform offers several advantages over personalized forms of treatment. First, Manitoba's population is very rural and has no access to major cities. This is a big challenge to provide comparable health care to all inhabitants of the province. Statistics show that people in remote communities are the most vulnerable to mental health problems and have limited access to treatment facilities. With online treatment, these communities are easier to reach. Secondly, many people with problematic gambling behaviour do not seek traditional addiction treatment because they fear stigmatisation. With an online intervention, a higher willingness to seek treatment is expected due to the anonymity and reduced feelings of shame.

Publications

Changing to win

Kurzbeschrieb

Entwicklung und Prüfung der Wirksamkeit einer neuen webbasierten integrierten Intervention für problematisches/pathologisches Glücksspielverhalten und Tabakkonsum

Projektleitung Michael Schaub
Dauer 01.2018-01.2021
Förderung durch / Auftraggeber

Manitoba Gambling Research Program

Kooperationspartner

Prof. Matthew Keough, Prof. David Hodgins, Prof. Sherry Stewart, Prof. James Mackillop

Ausgangslage

Problematische Glücksspielsucht und Tabakkonsum hängen stark zusammen. Studien zeigen, dass Tabakabhängigkeit die vorherrschende komorbide Störung bei Personen mit problematischem Glücksspielverhalten ist, mit Prävalenzen zwischen 41% bis 60%. Im Vergleich zur Normalbevölkerung sind Personen mit problematischem Glücksspielverhalten überproportional von erhöhten Todesraten durch Tabakkonsum betroffen. Zudem zeigt die Forschung, dass gleichzeitiger Tabakkonsum die Problematik des Glücksspielverhaltens zusätzlich verschärft.  Rauchende Personen mit problematischem Glücksspielverhalten weisen höhere Glücksspiel-Verhaltenspathologien auf, erleben einen stärkeren Drang zur Spielsucht, haben häufiger andere mentale Störungen, tendieren höhere Summen zu setzen, verbringen mehr Zeit mit Glücksspiel und weisen höhere finanzielle Probleme auf. Dies legt die Vermutung nahe, dass tägliches Rauchen den Behandlungserfolg einer Glücksspielsucht beinträchtigen kann. Entsprechend müsste bei psychologischen Intervention für Glücksspielverhalten auch ein Fokus auf die Behandlung des Rauchverhalten gelegt werden.

Zielsetzung

Entwicklung und Prüfung der Wirksamkeit einer neuen webbasierten integrierten Intervention für problematische/pathologische Glückspielsucht und Tabakkonsum anhand einer randomisiert kontrollierten Studie.

Methodik

Die vorgeschlagene Intervention basiert auf Strategien der Kognitiven Verhaltenstherapie und der motivierenden Gesprächsführung – beide sind evidenz-basierte Ansätze zur Therapierung von problematischem Glücksspielverhalten und Rauchen. Eine Hauptstärke wird der integrierte Ansatz sein, das heisst, dass in der gleichen Behandlung gleichzeitig problematisches Glücksspielverhalten und Rauchen behandelt wird.

Bedeutung

Die Online-Plattform bietet einige Vorteile gegenüber persönlichen Behandlungsformen. Erstens ist die Bevölkerung in Manitoba sehr ländlich verteilt und ohne Zugang zu grösseren Städten. Das ist eine grosse Herausforderung um allen Einwohnern der Provinz eine vergleichbare Gesundheitsversorgung anzubieten. Statistiken zeigen, dass Leute in entfernten Gemeinden am meisten mit psychischen Problemen zu schaffen haben und begrenzten Zugang zu Behandlungseinrichtungen haben. Mit einer online Behandlung sind diese einfacher zu erreichen. Zweitens suchen viele Personen mit problematischem Glücksspielverhalten keine klassische Suchtbehandlung auf, weil sie eine Stigmatisierung befürchten. Bei einer Online-Intervention kann durch die Anonymität und die geringeren Schamgefühle eine höhere Behandlungsbereitschaft erwartet werden.

Publikationen