Winbackcontrol.ch

Summary  Development, piloting, networking and evaluation of an online self-help interface for problematic and pathological gambling behaviour
Project manager(s) Michael Schaub
Duration 01.2018-12.2021
Client / Funding parnter(s)

Health Promotion Switzerland (Prevention in Health Care) and "Spielsucht Kooperationsmodell Nordwest- und Innerschweiz", "Interkantonales Spielsuchtprojekt Ostschweiz"

Cooperating partner(s)

Addiction Switzerland, "Perspektive Thurgau", "Groupement Romand d'Etudes des Addictions GREA", "Gruppo Azzardo Ticino Preventione"

Background

Problematic or pathological gambling addiction is widespread in Switzerland (ESBK 2014). Comorbidities with depressive disorders and substance-related addictions are high. Treatment is provided on a cantonal basis, with various services being combined. An actual therapeutic self-help interface, which can be linked to additional more direct therapy offers including blended counselling, is lacking in Switzerland. Blended counselling means the appropriate combination of internet counselling with other forms of counselling in order to compensate the disadvantages of one form with the advantages of the other.

Objective

With Winbackcontrol.ch we are planning the development, programming, piloting, translation and nationwide networking of a web-based self-help interface to reduce problematic or pathological gambling, taking into account frequent comorbid disorders. For the first time, those affected will receive a suitable self-help offer that is available around the clock. In addition, persons undergoing treatment can make their health and therapy-relevant information available to specialists in a targeted manner. Conversely, practitioners and therapists can offer their clients the self-help interface for blended counselling 

Method

In addition to a pilot project and a detailed self-evaluation, the effectiveness of the self-help surface is to be tested afterwards thanks to the additional funding of the 16 cantons of the intercantonal SOS Gambling Addiction programme. Finally, following successful pilot testing, adaptation and evaluation, the self-help interface will be made widely available to those seeking advice and counselling, including SafeZone.ch, sos-spielsucht.ch, sos-jeux.ch and giocoresponsabile.com, in trilingual and culturally adapted form. Interested treatment and therapy professionals are trained in the use of blended counselling in connection with the self-help surface (priority area II). Sustainability is ensured through continued funding and networking with Safezone.ch.

Value of the project

People with problematic/pathological gambling with or without comorbid mental disorders or addiction will for the first time receive a suitable offer available around the clock. In addition, persons undergoing treatment will be able to document their mental health or gambling behaviour regularly and independently. Additionally patients will be able to make health and treatment-related information available to their specialists. Conversely, counsellors and therapists can offer their clients the self-help interface in addition to their face-to-face offer (blended counselling) and use the data collected in the process at the request of the client.

Publications

Winbackcontrol.ch

Kurzbeschrieb

Erstellung, Pilotierung, Vernetzung und Evaluation einer online Selbsthilfeoberfläche bei problematischem und pathologischem Glückspielverhalten

Projektleitung Michael Schaub
Dauer 01.2018-12.2021
Förderung durch / Auftraggeber

Gesundheitsförderung Schweiz: Prävention in der Gesundheitsversorgung; Spielsucht Kooperationsmodell Nordwest- und Innerschweiz, Interkantonales Spielsuchtprojekt Ostschweiz

Kooperationspartner

Suchtschweiz, Perspektive Thurgau, Groupement Romand d'Etudes des Addictions GREA, Gruppo Azzardo Ticino Preventione

Ausgangslage

Problematische bzw. pathologische Glückspielsucht ist in der Schweiz verbreitet (ESBK 2014). Wobei Komorbiditäten mit depressiven Störungen und substanzbezogenen Süchten hoch sind. Die Behandlung erfolgt kantonal, wobei verschiedene Angebote zusammengeschlossen sind. Eine eigentliche therapeutische Selbsthilfeoberfläche, welche mit zusätzlichen direkteren Therapieangeboten inklusive dem Blended Counselling verknüpft werden kann, fehlt in der Schweiz. Blended Counselling meint die geeignete Kombination von Internet-Beratung mit anderen Beratungsformen, um die Nachteile der jeweils einen Form durch die Vorteile der anderen zu kompensieren.

Zielsetzung

Mit Winbackcontrol.ch planen wir die Entwicklung, Programmierung, Pilotierung, Übersetzung und schweizweite Vernetzung einer webbasierten Selbsthilfeoberflache zur Reduktion von problematischem bzw. pathologischem Glückspiel unter Berücksichtigung häufiger komorbider Störungen. Betroffene erhalten erstmals ein geeignetes und rund um die Uhr verfügbares Selbsthilfeangebot. Zudem können sich in Behandlung befindliche Personen gezielt ihre gesundheits- und therapierelevanten Informationen Fachpersonen zugängig machen. Umgekehrt können Behandelnde und Therapierende ihrem Klientel die Selbsthilfeoberfläche zum Blended Counselling anbieten.

Methodik

Nebst einer Pilotierung und einer detaillierten Selbstevaluation, soll die Selbsthilfeoberflache dank der zusätzlichen Finanzierung der 16 Kantone des Interkantonalen Programms SOS-Spielsucht im Anschluss auf seine Wirksamkeit hin überprüft werden. Letztlich soll die Selbsthilfeoberflache nach erfolgreicher Pilotierung, Adaptierung und Evaluation breit unter anderem mittels SafeZone.ch, sos-spielsucht.ch, sos-jeux.ch und giocoresponsabile.com Beratungssuchenden und beratenden Fachpersonen dreisprachig und kulturell angepasst zugängig gemacht werden. Interessierte Behandelnde und Therapierende werden in der Anwendung des Blended Counselling im Zusammenhang mit der Selbsthilfeoberflache geschult (prioritärer Bereich II). Die Nachhaltigkeit ist mittels der weiterführenden Finanzierung und der Vernetzung mit Safezone.ch gesichert.

Bedeutung

Personen mit problematischem/pathologischem Glückspiel mit oder ohne komorbide psychischen Störungen bzw. Sucht werden erstmals ein geeignetes, rund um die Uhr verfügbares Angebot erhalten. Zudem können Personen in Behandlung regelmässig und selbständig ihre psychische Verfassung bzw. ihr Glückspielverhalten dokumentieren und gesundheits- und therapierelevante Informationen ihren Fachpersonen zugängig machen. Umgekehrt können Beratende und Therapierende ihrem Klientel die Selbsthilfeoberfläche zusätzlich zu ihrem Face-to-face-Angebot anbieten (Blended Counselling) und die dabei erhobenen Daten auf Antrag der Klientel nutzen.

Publikationen