CANreduce (Mindfulness)

Summary

Investigating the impact of mindfulness therapy and cognitive behavioural therapy in internet-based self-help for people who have problems due to their cannabis use. 

Project Manager Michael Schaub
Duration April 2020 – March 2024
Client / Funding partner(s)

Schweizerischer Nationalfond

Cooperating partner  

Background

Internet-based self-help can offer a promising alternative for people seeking help with problems related to their cannabis use. Many of these people do not seek out standard addiction therapy because they are afraid of social exclusion or because they have the desire to reduce their cannabis consumption by their own efforts. A self-help interface on the internet based on mindfulness could reach a broader group of such people and in the long term strengthen the effects of interventions based solely on cognitive behavioural therapy.

Method

The current study aims to test the effectiveness of a newly developed, mindfulness-based self-help interface on the Internet with 606 people seeking help who have problems due to their cannabis use and want to reduce it. In addition, the study will identify relevant success factors for the reduction of cannabis use. In addition to the reduction of cannabis use, the study is also interested in possible improvements in mental health and satisfaction with participation.

Scientific and social context

In addition to new scientific findings on Internet-based self-help for cannabis problems and the promotion of mental health, this study is also relevant to practice. The completed CANreduce 2.0 study, on which the CANreduce Mindfulness Study is based on, has produced similarly good effects to those reported in recent years from face-to-face cognitive behavioural therapy.

Publications

Export

CANreduce (Achtsamkeit)

Kurzbeschrieb

Die Auswirkungen von Ansätzen der Achtsamkeitstherapie und der Kognitiven Verhaltenstherapie in der Internet-basierten Selbsthilfe bei Menschen die Probleme aufgrund ihres Cannabiskonsums haben.

Projektleitung Michael Schaub
Dauer April 2020 – März 2024
Förderung durch / Auftraggeber

Schweizerischer Nationalfond

Kooperationspartner  

Hintergrund

Internetbasierte Selbsthilfe kann eine vielversprechende Alternative für hilfesuchende Menschen mit Problemen im Zusammenhang mit ihrem Cannabiskonsum bieten. Viele dieser Personen suchen die klassischen Suchttherapieangebote nicht auf, weil sie Angst vor sozialer Ausgrenzung haben, oder weil sie den Wunsch hegen, ihren Cannabiskonsum möglichst aus eigener Kraft zu reduzieren. Eine auf Achtsamkeit basierende Selbsthilfeoberfläche im Internet könnte eine breitere Gruppe solcher Menschen erreichen und die Effekte bisheriger lediglich auf Kognitiver Verhaltenstherapie basierender Interventionen langfristig verstärken.

Methodik

Die aktuelle Studie soll die Wirksamkeit einer neu entwickelten integrierten, achtsamkeitsbasierten Selbsthilfeoberfläche im Internet mit 606 hilfesuchende Personen überprüfen, die Probleme aufgrund ihres Cannabiskonsums haben und diesen reduzieren wollen. Darüber hinaus soll die Studie relevante Erfolgsfaktoren für die Cannabiskonsumreduktion ermitteln. Bei der Studie interessieren nebst der Reduktion des Cannabiskonsums auch mögliche Verbesserungen der psychischen Gesundheit und die Zufriedenheit mit der Teilnahme.

Wissenschaftlicher und gesellschaftlicher Kontext

Nebst neuen wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen zur Internet-basierten Selbsthilfe bei Cannabisproblemen und zur Förderung der psychischen Gesundheit ist diese Studie auch relevant für die Praxis. Die abgeschlossene CANreduce 2.0 Studie, an der die CANreduce Mindfulness-Studie ansetzt, hat ähnlich gute Effekte hervor gebracht, wie sie in den letzten Jahren aus der face-to-face kognitiven Verhaltenstherapie berichtet wurden. 

Publikationen

Export